Sorry to be absent so long… things are increasingly strange ‘round these parts. Last week my alternate therapist gave me a homework assignment to write a paragraph or two on a topic of my choosing. I thought many thoughts and decided to write a little on thoughts about dreams. Wrote it yesterday while one of the aides was seeing to my lieges needs. She read it today and pronounced it good and to her one line was even deemed “powerful.” Gosh! So I thought I’d share.

Here goes…

Oh dear… a brief one is needed… on what, though? I don’t know. Ah! Dreams…

Last night, or was it this morning, I was thinking about dreams. What are they? Who are the people in them? Most seem to believe that the people in our dreams are those we have seen while awake, even if they are total strangers, because the subconscious records and stashes away literally everything that happens to us. It might be true, that. It might not.

I have heard that dreams are our mind trying to sort things out. I remember reading that Einstein’s Big Idea had come to him in a dream. That phrase “… it came to me in a dream,” is ubiquitous. And for the Aborigines of Australia, well, they have their Dreamtime, a major chunk of their past when things were apparently quite different.

But, as in most things, no one really knows. That’s good in a way, as it makes us think so that we will hopefully be able to sort it out someday.

I only remember my dreams for a few minutes at best. I find that unfortunate, as some of them are pretty good. There have been a few cases where I will remember a few seconds of a dream long term, but it is exceedingly rare. The only one I can think of as I write this involved a person I do know saying something I knew to be true but was in denial about. That certainly reinforces the dreams are about things that concern us camp. That said, there are a lot of camps.

Some dreams seem to have nothing to do with the waking world and are more of an adventure into the unknown. Odd, these dreams.

I like it when I can go back to sleep after my bi-hourly nature wake up, pick up on a dream and continue on with it. I think that that is pretty darn cool and raises even more questions as to just what dreams really are.

I did note that there was a long period wherein I had not dreamt at all, but, upon cessation of smoking cigarettes, I once again could experience dreams. That was a wonderful side effect of quitting. I highly recommend it. Especially if life is not so good… dreams are something to look forward to, even if they remain unremembered.

Years ago, many of them, I think I had at least one or perhaps two of those ‘vivid’ dreams… dreams wherein you know that you’re dreaming and can control what happens in the story line. I would like that to happen again. I would like that very much.

Due to my affinity for things of an inexplicable nature, I am sometimes of the opinion that dreams are a look into other dimensions or alternate universes. I like that idea, find it rather exciting, in fact and find nothing that says it cannot be. There are such places, after all and things like psychedelics can let the mind access them… perhaps in dreams the mind can do it unaided. I note that I never see any “cool stuff,” though, so perhaps there are a multitude of destinations where we can wind up.

I would probably want to stay there.

Ah well… food for thought, things to ponder, eh, what?

Peace.

###

And there you have it.

Hope you enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

