Long John – Lightning – An Old Song, Sung By A Chain Gang. The Blues, Indeed.

Posted: March 6th, 2012 in life, music, The Blues, United States
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Uploaded by on Jun 20, 2009

Old Song Lightning from a chain gang

 

If this doesn’t define The Blues, I don’t know what would.

I believe that the chain gang is an ongoing part of southern history and perhaps elsewhere, although I would hope it’s not quite as horrific as it was when this was recorded. I could be wrong about the conditions, I guess.

Not much to go on in the description. It gives the title as Lightning, but methinks it should be Long John, no?

Man, this is just sad.

I bet a lot of them were innocent.

Sigh.

Peace.

Comments
  1. Most cool. Now, them’s da blues…

Leave a Reply

