Portland Water Bureau’s David Shaff: WATT’s Lower Class Twit Of The Year Winner.

Posted: June 20th, 2011 in criminals, Forteana, government, human behavior, Oregon, stupidity, United States, wackos
Tags: , , , , , ,

I did not want to believe what I was reading at AboveTopSecret and then the source of the story, the UK’s Telegraph. But, there it was. A picture perfect representation of the level of ignorance, idiocy and stupidity that the country I call home has sunk down to. I mean, you can’t make this stuff up!

I am rendered somewhat speechless by this news… bear with me… how can people be so stupid? How was this idea even allowed to go forward? Does one need to be below a certain IQ to work for Portland Water? Does this imply that the water pouring from people’s taps in Oregon is completely untreated? What about dead fish? Fish shit? Dead deer? Bear? Bird wee-wee? Mosquito larvae? What The Hell Is Wrong With People?!

As I am about to start rambling incoherently out of sheer disbelief, I feel compelled to post the Original Post from the thread at Above Top Secret by anon72 to give my brain some time. And, please, do click that and read the rest of the thread, okay? Always some fab commentary at ATS.

8 Million Gallons of Water Drained from Reservoir after Man Urinates In It: (absolutely crazy!)

The operation is costing the state’s taxpayers $36,000 and was ordered after Joshua Seater, 21, was caught on a security camera relieving himself in the pristine lake

Portland reservoir drained for a cup of pee.

Health experts said the incident would not have caused any harm to people in the city of Portland, who are supplied with drinking water from the reservoir. They said the average human bladder holds only six to eight ounces, and the urine would have been vastly diluted

But David Shaff, an administrator at the Portland Water Bureau, defended the decision to empty the lake. “There are people who will say it’s an over reaction. I don’t think so. I think what you have to deal with here is the ‘yuck’ factor,” “I can imagine how many people would be saying ‘I made orange juice with that water this morning.’ “Do you want to drink pee? Most people are going to be pretty damn squeamish about that.” he said.

Source: www.telegraph.co.uk…

Makes me want to say WHAT THE HELL! This Mr. Shaff has some issues I think. Deep routed issues.

Absolute waste of value water-over a little bit of pee! How does he think the water gets to the dam area. By passing through mountains etc. Dead animals in water ways, all kinds of waste. That’s why we treat it…..

I don’t have any experience in this field but to me this just seems crazy to dump all that water. What do they do when they find an animal dead in it? Fish? hmmmmm?

Can anyone of you make sense of this act? The dumping not the peeing.

Political Correctness? Extreme Nature Lovers? Eco-Manics in charge now?

Ha! Deep rooted issues indeed. Well, I am still out of sorts. A few replies noting the things mentioned above and then…

A post in reply from survivalstation who kindly lists perhaps the best place to vent of them all:

From the Portland Water twitter stream….

You can write the Administrator directly at shaff.david@portlandoregon.gov and share your views with him directly.

Well, since WordPress just posted this by itself, before I was finished, I might as well wrap it up just to repeat my level of astonishment at this incredible display of abject stupidity here in a supposedly educated society.

Could there have been another reason that the lake needed to be drained quickly, and poor Mr. Joshua Seater was just a convenient patsy?

Hmmm…

Comments
  1. David Shaff says:

    I think it is a bit early to award me Lower Class Twit of the year – it’s not even half over yet.

    We don’t have fish (or anything else) living in the reservoirs. These are in-town storage tanks – you know, like the ones you see in your neighborhood, but without any cover over them. There are about 3 dozen of them left in the United States and we have 5 of them. You can pull them up on Google Maps to see what they look like, but you should should know a bit more about our system to understand why I made the decision I did.

    We treat our water with chlorine and ammonia and then send it into our distribution system. Part of that system is a series of storage reservoirs and tanks. 5 of our reservoirs are open to anything that gets thrown, blown or dumped into them. The person who urinated in the reservoir did so at a point long after the water was treated to become drinking water. Open reservoirs are no longer allowed under EPA regulations and those systems that have them all have to stop storing treated drinking water under schedules approved by their state regulatory agencies or the EPA. See attached links:

    http://www.portlandonline.com/water/index.cfm?c=53849

    http://www.portlandonline.com/water/index.cfm?c=53849&a=330807

    Many people who have contacted me don’t agree with my decision to empty the reservoir. Reasonable people differ and I think taking a different course would have been reasonable as well. However, I am also confident that if I had taken a different course of action, many people would be reasonably upset that we didn’t dump the water.

    There was a known contaminant (as well as the unknown contaminants that were thrown into the reservoir as well) that was introduced into our drinking water last week. Knowing that some unknown substance was introduced into our drinking water made me much more cautious. We also have the luxury of having a lot of water available to us right now with full reservoirs and hundreds of millions of gallons going down the Bull Run River because we are full. We have the amount of water I am disposing of going downriver approximately every 35 minutes right now. Given that water is both cheap and abundant here in Portland, I think caution was the right move. Were we in a 100 year draught, or living in a water scarce region, I might make a different decision.

    The other thing that I think most people don’t get is that we didn’t lose $28,000 in revenue last week. We used 119 million gallons of water in the 24 hours since midnight June 14 to midnight June 15. We wouldn’t have used 8 million gallons more. I just replaced the 8 million gallons that was tainted with 8 million gallons that wasn’t. The direct cost of my decision is the cost to dispose of the water (we estimate that at around $7,700) and having to divert a crew from doing something else to cleaning a reservoir that I wouldn’t have needed to clean again until this Fall.

    David Shaff, Administrator
    Portland Water Bureau

    • iggymak says:

      Thank you for your informative reply and your welcome sense of humor.

      I understand more of the situation now… although I am still unconvinced. The hapless fellow’s “threat level” has to be at least an order of magnitude (or two or three) below what one might experience in a public (or perhaps even private) swimming pool.

      I must add though that I still find it somewhat disconcerting that the water apparently does not go through a final filtering before it appears at people’s taps given it’s storage situation.

      As it is an open body of water it is as you say subject to whatever might fall into it. Do crews regularly patrol the lake removing dead birds and testing for various chemical contaminants?

      I will check out your links, thanks for posting them.

      Perhaps this is an indication of the general decline in our society that has been a long time in the making, I call it the wussification of the populace, ranging from, say, feeling that one will surely die if they don’t wear those silly bicycle helmets, the mandatorization of same, and so on, ad infinitum through every aspect of life, a favorite being antibacterial soaps, which actually reduce the body’s ability to resist infection.

      It’s all very sad.

  2. Debbie Stievenard says:

    I think David shaft is an awesome water administrator and has very goog judgement and we should support him even though he has tremendous opresission from the omnipresent government. ( like the hunger games, and the Capitol)

Leave a Reply

