Michigan Dogman enhanced crop by Iggy Makarevich

Michigan’s Dogman is still tearing up the internet and fortunately lots more info is coming to light. I find myself fascinated with this animal. It’s clearly not a bear, as I’ve seen bears, in fact, one calls my Dad’s backyard home. That’d be People’s State Forest in upper Connecticut, mere miles as it happens from the 19th century haunts of the Winsted Wildman. I’ve seen Dad’s neighbor from a distance of perhaps 100 feet for extended periods of time. I don’t think this Dogman chap has anything to do with dogs, as it moves more like a cat to these eyes, but, as I said, it ain’t no bear either.

Michigan Dogman enhanced crop by Iggy Makarevich

I tried to bring out as much detail in the creature as I could in the above images, but they’re off of screen captures and in any event, when you start with an image as small as that on 8mm film stock, coupled with the data loss in digitization, there’s just not a lot of information present to enhance. Still, there’s something. Something very, very scary.

In the meantime…

A new video has surfaced, allegedly showing a part of the police investigation of the scene after the attack. Be aware that there is grisly footage of a man who has been eaten from the waist down… completely.

The scene seems to fit in with the Gable film. Truck’s the same, camera’s the same and on the ground properly, the body seems to match the man in the film… Javier Ortega over at Ghost Theory has been investigating this newly found video of the aftermath. The first installment went over the basics with explorations of the body, the camera and the story below as told at YouTube.

QuinlanOUR12
July 17, 2009

I was at my little brother’s house Friday June 10th and my sister-in-law was watching Fox News. (She’s madly in lust with that Sean Hannity guy). A short segment came on about “the Beast of Bray Road”. Hannity then played a clip from a film named…”The Gable Film”.

Sirens went off in my head.

Our only uncle was a film nut in college, back in the seventies. He was always making home movies and beer commercials. He was even hired, (not for pay), to help the Michigan Department of Natural Resources investigate and document a bear attack, just north of Bellaire. (Our Grandmother worked in the Antrim County Courthouse,…. she had a hand in getting him the gig). The victim’s name was Aaron GABLE.

…..GABLE!!!

My mother tells us that after filming the attack scene, our Uncle John was so distraught that he packed up his stuff and moved to Florida, two weeks later!. Mom says his behavior was becoming very psychotic, he couldn’t sleep at night and he kept going on about how “bears have FIVE toes,….. dogs have four”!. Just a week after he left, a DNR officer hand-delivered the film that Uncle John made to my Mother’s house. It’s been in a box in the basement ever since.

Now, I seem to recall that these films usually lasted about five minutes or so, but the film we have is only about a minute long… and the end of it was obviously torn off, not cut clean. I wonder just how much is missing? We almost threw this film away just a couple of years ago, but I wound up buying a vintage projector on eBay, just to see what was on this film. (Boy, was I suprised). NOW,….. I find that there’s this “Gable” film out there?

I wonder if these two films are related. I’ll see if I can get it in better resolution, other than with Wifey’s camera-phone. (It might be expensive,….. but I’m sure it’ll be worth it).

One thing’s for certain, whatever it was on that clip that they played on Fox News,….. it sure didn’t look like no Bear.

Category: Film & Animation

Sounds slightly dodgy, but could well be true. I note with interest that the video is in the Film and Animation category. Odd. Anyway, that scene is a bit harsh for an unsuspecting college age kid not knowing what to expect from an alleged “bear attack,” I don’t know about him going insane, but I know I was traumatized for a good while after finding my cousin’s dead body, so… it’s still a maybe.

There have been two additional posts on Ghost Theory since… the second post continues with further correlations and commenary by Linda Godfrey, author of The Beast of Bray Road: Tailing Wisconsin’s Werewolf… and raises even more questions… and in the third one there’s more points and… more questions. There are some very good concerns raised and items of note uncovered in all three, so be sure to read all the comments.

Hopefully we will at least find out the true origins of these films and the fate of Aaron Gable; and maybe, just maybe, the nature of this animal.

Another enhancement of the original film’s just out on MySpace and is well done. Should I get some work and clear my depression a tad, I’ll do one, too.

There’s a DVD out with Linda Godfrey and others called Hunt the Dogmanthat you might want to check out.

Comments
  1. The beast in the “Gable Film” is clearly not a bear. It’s not a Feline either. Doesn’t move like a cat. The animal has a chunky, turbulent movement to it unlike a cat that moves as smooth as skilk. The autopsy film as I call it shows the half-eaten body of a victim and it doesn’t appear to be the driver. If you watch the entire film you’ll see there were two people in it, one is a female that is standing before the open hood of the truck and a male who is the driver. The half-eaten body looks like the female, it has breasts and the shirt is different. The man was wearing a vest too. Also a image of a man appears in the front side mirror of the truck and the image doesn’t look like either of the afore mentioned poeple. Maybe there were three people at the attack site. The one element that looks bogus is the cops, they doin’t look like law enforcement, their stance is all wrong and I can’t see a side firearm on him or even a shotgun. If the depicted animal is real, its damn scary and needs to be identified if possible. I would be sure and hell carry a shotgun to the scene ready to use if necessary, although I wouldn’t want the beast killed if at all possible. I grew up in Detroit and spent the first 23 years of my life there. Never ever heard of the Dogman or anything remotely like it. Did go to summer camp in Port Huron and I can tell you it was creepy and silent at night, very dark and woodsy. Lolt of water, lake and fresh and I presume, much Deer and other game for a predator to eat. Who knows whats lurking in the lower penisula thumb area of Michigan were most of the sightings have occured. Also accompanied my cousin to Big Rapids and the campus of Ferris State in the early 60’s and a animal of unknown origin could be living up there and if it did not want to be found it wouldn’t be. All criteria for life exist up there, water,shelter,cover,food and sparse population.

    • Carlee Crisan says:

      hello! I was wondering if you are the same Craig Najarian from the Year of the Michigan Dogman website who wrote the article about growing up as a white boy in a black neighborhood and hearing the dogman and also hearing about boys that were camping near your town who came into contact with it? If so, I would highly appreciate either an interview over email or messaging, or even a phone interview about this! I’m doing a project on the dogman and need some primary research sources

  2. FlickaFlockaHoo says:

    it was Gable himself, wearing a suit, pretty cool how he did it.

Leave a Reply

