UFOs Visit Torrington, Connecticut…

Posted: March 14th, 2009 in UFO sightings
Tags: , , , , ,

the Torrington UFO - M* Enhancement of Torrington Connecticut UFO, March 4th, 2009
 
Perhaps, just perhaps, I should, somehow, pay more attention… as I’d heard nothing of this, not that anyone would tell me, but this incident of March 4th, 2009 is pretty close to home. Only 90 miles or so, (not as the crow flies, which’d be ~60), about 6 or 7/8 of the way up to my dad’s hut… jeez. Looks like a pretty sporty model, too… too bad about the overexposure, but that’s to be expected. It’s somewhat similar to the star of my first sighting.

I got the news today off of The Anomalist’s lead on the article below. Seems UFO Digest’s Mr. Morningstar lives even closer than me, but he too was informed in a roundabout way. Sigh.

As Editor of UFO Digest, I receive weekly reports on UFO activities around the world. This latest one hit very close to home.

The story of the Torrington UFO Flap for me began with this email from a resident of Torrington, a small Connecticut town near Hartford.”

On Fri, 3/6/09, Don wrote:
From: Don
Subject: Re: video
To: M*
Date: Friday, March 6, 2009, 11:00 AM

Someone is reporting in today’s paper that they live in Goshen, Conn. and took a walk in the woods.

Upon venturing a bit further away than usual they encountered military personnel who told them they needed to leave, that they were trespassing. Goshen does not have military land.  […]   Continue reading this article.

Full size photo here.

All in all, a nice one, and near my backyard, sort of… maybe me and Mr Morningstar will have better luck soon…

Comments
  1. Susan says:

    Wow! This is a sighting replete with menacing ” military personnel”…ie. MIBS? Good pic too! I’m about 50 miles northwest of Torrington, over the border in MA.

    Maybe this is the start of a flap, like New England use to have way back when….

    • iggymak says:

      Wow, indeed! I do hope that it is the start of a flap… we’re overdue, and the rest of the world seems to be having one, so, yeah!

      The presence of the military in that area is an aspect of this not to be taken lightly… whether there was a UFO or not, actually.

  2. Susan says:

    iggymark, I read, after posting my earlier entry above, that there was an interesting and frightening close encounter in MA. – think it was on MUFON’s UFO Stalker. Where in MA. though, it was not listed.

    Definitely think now after reading lots more recent sightings around CT./MA. that a Flap is underway. The press in the area is blacked out on it. And, as you say, when an military presence rears its head, it’s “not to be taken lightly”.

    I’m in a town that has a history of high strangeness. On You Tube there are fairly recent UFO videos (not taken by me) for Southwick, MA. and for Chicopee, MA. Some were passsed on to and reported by longtime investigator Linda Moulton Howe.

    Though Bradley International Airport in Windsor Locks, CT.(no.west of Hartford) is a stones throw from here (22 miles), there are oddities in the sky that don’t appear to be aircraft from there (and we see plenty of outgoing/incoming flights).

    The same can be said for Torrington, CT. One of the sightings there was by a former pilot, so he could easily recognize what comes out of Bradley International Airport.

    • iggymak says:

      Susan thank you… looks like my reading and viewing list just got bigger… “interesting and frightening” have certainly caught my attention. I don’t usually hear of “frightening” too often so finding that’s a must. Starting to think about the need to do more local checking as much as I can within the constraints of the horrors I’m experiencing of late. (Not paranormal). Too much good stuff is going down as your reporting duly indicates.

      The military dudes are troubling… if only for bullying some innocent hikers. Makes me think it was one of ours. I mean… a detail of unknown origin traipsing around the woods of Goshen? High strangeness indeed. Possibly ominous, but perhaps they were only tracking the performance of their “toy.” Ha… that’s ominous to me…

      We do live in an area with a history of the unusual, for at least several hundred years and I’m excited that it’s ramping up… here’s to us getting lucky soon.

      Let’s keep our sensors on and continue posting what we run across… thanks!

  3. Susan says:

    iggymak, Here’s that recently reported Massachusetts “interesting and frightening”(as I describe it… ;-) ) sighting from MUFON’s website. I tracked it down. I sure would love to know where in MA this took place?!

    ” Date Submitted Date of Event
    2009-03-14 2009-03-13
    Long Description of Sighting Report
    I was out in the early morning walking my dog. It was 5:45. I was looking east, up my street when I looked up and saw this long grey box shape coming toward me in the sky.It was coming at me from over the houses rather then the street. At first I thought it was a plane but then I relized it was not. It was very silent with out ANY noise. As it came to be right above me, I, becoming nervous and kinda scared, moved to my porch and looked up. The bottom was grey, with what looked like black lines on it. It looked like it was 2 stories high, and by that I mean it had 2 stories. It had lines on top and bottom that made it look like it had windows, but with no lights. As it moved on I noticed the only lights I could see .It had three lights. 2 red ones , one on each side, and one white, in the middle. As it came over the houses, it curved and moved over the street and out toward the north. From the time I first saw it to the moment it glided over me and on out of sight was about 10 minutes. If you would like to contact me I have given my name and email address. Thank you.. “

  4. Susan says:

    Y/W iggymak! Oh heck, that would scare me if it came right over me and my dog, as the witness alledges happen to him/her. That’s not my idea of a pleasant morning walk. ;-)

  5. Great Site. We just did some work on the Torrington UFO flap. Please check us out.

  6. HI. We’ve done some research on the Torrington UFO flap. Please check out our labours. Thanks.

  7. Jennifer says:

    I am a UFO and live in Torrington..I”ve seen the UFO that came across Interstate 84 when I was a kid and scared the hell out of me! Which makes me a believer today…But I really hate to burst anyones bubble…I don;t think this flap is real mainly because of the fact look at the picture it looks like car head lights with additional fog lights in the center sorry to piss people off, and another clue is the only military we have around this area is up at Bradley International and I really don”t think they would come so fast to Torrington or Goshen. Especially Goshen being about 45 minutes to an hour away from Bradley and near Chicopee Mass too which would be north of Bradley. I dont want to burst no bubbles like I said but I think this one is a miss Sorry, Jennifer

  8. Jennifer says:

    Hi, I am actually beginning to get very nervous here! I live in Torrington, Ct and everyday between the am hours of 5:00 and 6:oo, I see these smaller sized sporty planes flying back and forth over a certain 5 mile radius of a residential area around East Main Street and say Wheeler Lan, up to Sunny Lane. Today, 10/19/09 I literally counted 9 different planes, going over this area in different directions? What is going on? 1 of these planes was different though, it was a black 1, had lights on the bottom like the rest, but it was different. Is there something going on that people should worry about? Or does it have to do with those Chem trails that are supposedly for killing the Honey Bee that helps pollenate our flowers and our earth?
    There is no reason for planes to be flying over this area? I thought they aren’t allowed to fly over residential areas? Does anybody know anything?
    Go outside during these hours before dark, grab a coffee, sit in your car and watch! You’ll see!

    • iggymak says:

      That sounds pretty strange, Jennifer… pretty strange indeed. You might want to contact the airport(s) and ask them what’s up. They’d likely tell you what’s up, along with your local police if they’re really quite low.

      Aviation safety is pretty serious stuff, so I’m sure you’ll peak their interest if you make inquiries.

      They wouldn’t be chemtrail planes if they’re low. That’s high altitude stuff, for military communication, mostly, and weather control. That it’s toxic is regarded as an ‘afterthought.’ Or non-thought.

      You’ve got me curious!

  9. Bill says:

    Reports of any ufo phenomena can be submitted to Mufon at:
    http://www.mufon.com/reportufo.htm
    New England Mufon is now organizing in Connecticut, recruiting new members, and training Field Invesigators:
    see: http://www.newenglandmufon.com/
    We welcome sincere and legitimate ufo reports.

Leave a Reply

